Life and Music – Not Necessarily In That Order

Despite it not being what I’d normally listen to, I’ve been listening to Lupe Fiasco a lot these last few days. I suppose it can never do any harm to stray outside the general alternative rock barriers every once in a while. Thanks to such wonders as 50 Cent, I’m always extremely wary of rap/hip-hop music. Perhaps the only music from that generalised genre that I’ve listened to more than a few times in the last year is Kanye West. Anyway, my brother, who has considerably different taste to me, has put me onto Lupe Fiasco’s new album, ‘The Cool’ and consequently 2006’s ‘Food & Liquor’.

lupe-fiasco.jpg

In a strange kind of way, I sort of enjoy being years behind everyone else in picking up on a new album/artist. Which is fortunate, really, because it happens all the time. It’s almost like I’m remembering something that others have already moved on from and dismissed as “yesterday’s news“. Also, not being one to listen to the radio very often – and when I do its usually spoken word – I miss out on singles being overplayed and get to listen to them in the context of the album, as they were meant. You feel less familiar with it and everything just ‘works’ a lot better.

I’ve got an interview at UCL tomorrow so will be heading down to London for the day. I really do want to go there so am just hoping I don’t mess anything up. I just have to stay calm. Try not to think about it too much.

Like that’s going to happen.

2 responses to “Life and Music – Not Necessarily In That Order

  1. bitchz

  2. the fuck was the point of this? U were sleepin’ on Lupe, like everyone else did. U generalize rap, like he’s the only good “concious” rapper out there. If 50 is still influencing you’re choice in music, go back to 2002 and slit you’re wrists

Leave a Reply

